EPIC FLOW

Engaging, Participating, Interacting, Creating – Fulfillment, Leadership, Organization, Wisdom

The Value of Starting Something

Posted by Herman Najoli on April 23, 2007

The other day I had some time and invested it in watching one of Guy Kawasaki’s speeches in which he talked about his latest book, The Art of the Start. Listening to him got me thinking about the value of starting something. The one thing that I find to be the defining mark of anybody who ever soars and ascends into the public limelight is that they start something. Be it in politics, religion, science, business, sports or any other field. Those that become torch bearers in these fields do so based on something that they started – either a new idea, a new invention, a new philosophy, a new product, a new movement, a new skill or technique.Your personal goal in life may not be to make it into the limelight but your contribution to life demands that you start something. Starting something is the key to adding value. Adding value to life is the rent we pay for the space we inhabit on this earth. Step out of your comfort zone. Gone are the days when breakthroughs were limited. We now live in an information age that offers boundless opportunities for those who will make the effort to embrace a superior level of life. It’s about reaching your full potential and maximizing your life. So, go ahead … start something.

3 Responses to “The Value of Starting Something”

  1. carolom said

    NLP has an effective process called “chunking things down”.

    That means the Start of something is always followed by one small step…and another..and another…moving gradually and throughly to the completed project.

    This is a really useful approach because so many people don’t begin becasue they feel overwhelmed by the hugeness of the overall process when in fact “inch by inch its a cinch”…when “by the yard it can be hard”….

  2. Uh…huh! Synchronicity! This couldn’t have been said better! You made me think of sports. My two favorite sports growing up were soccer and rugby, which are free flowing as opposed to American football, which is played by the yard. The free flowing nature of my favorite sports taught me to that it was easy to attain the goal (a score) by enjoying the process and being happily consistent. I find American football to be rigid. The many stoppages and the many switchings of players make teh game so mechanical – and therefore hard.I think if we approach life as a free-flowing process and enjoyed every bit of the process, we would make great progress. Thanks for stirring my imagination towards these thoughts.

  3. G. Lane Cavalier said

    Thanks for the great visualization device, I recently have started a few things of my own over the last 6 months or so. For me the problem was overcoming the initial inertia that is the status quo. Once I was able to make the first step, the process is now a maintain and build upon approach. Soccer is a new sport to me as I grew up on Baseball. Coaching my children’s soccer team has given me an appreciation for the constant motion and positioning required, but I had not until this moment made the direct connection to other areas of my life.

Leave a Reply

 
